11
Nov
09

Taking Savannah By Storm

Amos 5: 21-24

“I can’t stand your religious meetings.
I’m fed up with your conferences and conventions.
I want nothing to do with your religion projects,
your pretentious slogans and goals.
I’m sick of your fund-raising schemes,
your public relations and image making.
I’ve had all I can take of your noisy ego-music.
When was the last time you sang to me?
Do you know what I want?
I want justice—oceans of it.
I want fairness—rivers of it.
That’s what I want. That’s all I want.”

Savannah is a different breed of cities. It has one of the largest homosexual populations in the country, it is home to one of the most prestigous art/design colleges in the world, it is best known for its crazy St. Patrick’s Day party, and yet at it’s deepest roots it played a huge role in the Christian church and the beginning of the protestant church in America.

It is a city that has had seeds planted by many of the biggest names in Christian history. John Wesley, the Moravians, and many others have come to Savannah seeking revival. The history of the church in this city is remarkable and I truly believe that at this moment the seeds planted back in those days are about to take root and bear fruit.

8 months ago I moved to Savannah from rural Georgia to get a foot in the door. I began a short stint at a suburban pentacostal church (The Lake Church) as their media director and am in the process of helping them get ready for their new state-of-the-art building. While helping TLC I have continued my work with the company Shift Creative and been planning a church plant with my friend Jim Simpson. Some recent events have pushed up the date for this plant and that is why I am writing this blog.

In early May I will be a part of an exciting new church in Savannah. This church will be a modern multi-generational church that uses media, relevant teachings, and passionate worship to help tell the story of God in a creative way to a creative generation. It will be an outward focused church that truly seeks to love the city of Savannah into a relationship with God.

Right now it is a nameless and buildingless church that is just the vision and passion of a handful of people who have a heart for Savannah. As the weeks and months get closer we will finalize a name, location, website, service times, and all the other details. We will also be sending out letters, emails, facebook blasts, twitter posts, texts, phone calls, and whatever else it takes to get donations to fund this huge undertaking.

Between now and early May I will continue to help TLC  and even after the church plant I hope to be a part of everything awesome going on. Pastor Reyes and Pastor Brandon and the whole leadership team have been a great team to work with and I plan on helping out and hanging around whenever possible. I also will continue to travel with Brandon and the Warfare worship band running all of his media stuff whenever I am needed.

I’m excited that I’m finally allowed to post a time frame for this! I look forward to your comments and questions!

0 Responses to “Taking Savannah By Storm”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

twitter.com/briandbuchanan

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  
SponsoredTweets hire me badge

SponsoredTweets referral badge

